Anything for BINGO…!!

Since we have located a few photos of way back when, we couldn’t resist posting this picture and a bit of the story behind it.

You see, back in the early 70’s Mom and Dad wouldn’t allow the boys to own or ride motorcycles (to their knowledge).  Then came the baby, Ewen who was incessant in wanting a bike.  About a year after getting his licence Ewen bought a parts bike from a friend, a Suzuki T-200 two-stroke and with the help of brother-in laws Mike and Frank, got it back together and running in just 3 months.  Smoke billowing and noisy as heck but it was working transportation!

Offering everyone a ride on the new steed, everyone but the parents had a shot. “You’re not getting me on that death machine”, retorts mom, not!

Dad wasn’t much for the two-wheel machine and used his well-known comments like , “Just don’t kill yourself, your mother would be quite mad.”

Fast forward to the late summer of the same year.  Dad is late getting home from his day shift on the BC Ferries and Delphine is busy with her son and, well, she couldn’t get a life to BINGO in Harewood.  Taxi’s were not in her vocabulary unless it was one of her offspring.

Lightbulb!  “Wanna ride on the bike mom?”  I thought this was a way of breaking her beliefs in motorcycles and riders.  “No, just no!”    Alright I thought I will change the oil and tighten the chain and then I’ll be off to friends for the evening.

1/2 hour came and passed, chain tight, two-stroke oil topped up….kitchen back door opens and I hear, “Where is your spare helmet?”  and well the rest is history.  Mom rode on all of my bikes after that up and until I left for the mounties…..I saw her smile more than once on the back of the bikes – in my rear view mirror…….BINGO!

Then….

Now….with Marilyn on the back this time

….

….

One Response

  1. BINGO was her thing, so it doesn’t surprise me that gave in 🙂
    I sure do miss her.

Leave a Reply

